To start page

Working holiday

Denmark has made working holiday agreements with Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, Japan, New Zealand and South Korea.

The working holiday programme makes it possible for young people from these countries to get a residence permit in order to stay in Denmark for an extended period of time. The agreements go both ways and also make it possible for young people from Denmark to stay in one of these countries according to the regulations which apply to each country.

The programme was established in order to give young people from these countries a chance to experience each other’s culture and way of life. As such, the purpose of the programme is to further mutual understanding between the countries.

If you qualify for the working holiday programme, you can be granted a residence permit for a maximum of 12 months. The primary purpose of your stay must be holiday, but you may work during your stay in order to earn supplementary funds to support yourself.

You are allowed to work for a certain number of months during a 12-month stay.

You are also allowed to study or take a training course for a limited period of time.

Click on the links below to read more about the special conditions for a working holiday stay which apply to citizens from each of the countries:

Danish citizens who are interested in a working holiday in one of the countries in the programme should contact the embassy of the country in question.  

Last update: 5/17/2016
About the content on
Published by: The Danish Agency for International Recruitment and Integration